I think his tractors sexy….

7 am on a Saturday morning is normally a pretty quite hour in our house.  Saturdays we more often than not are still sleeping, at least until 9ish… But not yesterday.  Yesterday we were up and moving.  Preparing for a quick trip to Donald Oregon{that’s about 4 hours north for those of you wondering…}

Why, you ask… to pick up Chris’s new lawn tractor.

Im not sure where the thought came from. But a few weeks ago Chris decided that he wanted to restore an old tractor.  But because of moving weight limits he had to settle for a lawn tractor for now.

After losing a bidding war on eBay for a John Deere he found a 1966 Sears Suburban on Craigslist.

And so our adventure into tractor restoration begins…..

We left the house at about 8 and after a quick stop for breakfast we were on the road.

We had to rent a u-haul to get it home.  Caleb was supper excited about that.  He got to ride all the way home in the “front seat” with dad!

The man selling it was nice enough to give Chris a quick lesson on driving it and helped load it up.  And then we were back on the road headed home.

Once we were home and had it unloaded I pulled out my camera {saving Chris the embarrassment of having me whip it out at the mans house 🙂 }

So here it is….

Caleb is very excited about this project.  And pretty sure that he will be getting his drivers license in a few weeks so he can drive it around the yard….

   

And yes it runs.. it has to be jump started because the battery isnt great and maybe the alternator is bad but other than that it runs pretty well.  We tested it out last night..  Yep that was us driving up and down our road at 830 ish.  Im sure our neighbors LOVE us :p

Oh and just for the record… I dont think its “sexy”  Im not even sure I like that word… But my husband is happy.  And so I am happy.

 

 

3 thoughts on “I think his tractors sexy….

  1. Now I’ve got that song stuck in my head. 🙂 That’s a cool tractor. I thought you were getting a newer one. What a great project. Can’t wait to see the progress pictures.

  2. I like it. What a wonderful project and fun time to have with father and son!! My husband can help you get a new battery for it, maybe even and alternator but I’m not sure on that one, definitely a battery. He works at battery exchange and can get batteries for everything. Let me know and I can call you and give you his work number. 🙂 I’m excited to see how the restoration goes too. I hope you will be blogging about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

